Found Poetry: Mind, Brain, and Spinal Cord

I cannot bring myself to believe
that mind is resolvable

into a function of brain-
into mere cerebration;

and the more I reflect. . .
the more I am indisposed to accept

this materialistic view.
If I reflect, for example,

upon the workings of memory,
before long I find myself regarding

them . . .
spiritual- istic rather than
from a materialistic point of view;

and, do what I will,
I cannot prevent myself

from coming to the conclusion
that mind must have. . .

foundation, not in matter,
but in spirit.

**********
source article(pdf warning):
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2293496/pdf/brmedj05189-0001.pdf/?tool=pmcentrez

One thought on “Found Poetry: Mind, Brain, and Spinal Cord

  1. Reducing the mind to its component parts truly does not reflect its complexity…there must be something more there I would agree..thanks for the poem.

Leave a Reply

