Outside of.

this. the description.
Exterior. walls.

Moving.
slowly. with depth.

This the drought,
for now you may notice the imperfect yellow of grass.

(or)

a hole in the chain-link.
climb through.

Here. the brittle.

Here.
The yellow grass grows as well.

The sidewalk.
leads up.
up.

steps. a porch. two dogs.

The spaces between.
houses.

The breathes between.
words.

Try to conceal.

Water will. make things.
clearer.

Water will. make.
undone.

Water.
against the curb.

Tips of fingers.
underneath.

The passing of.
underneath.

Next door.
Molly watches.

Sun fighting between.

a caucaphony of leaves.

Embrace.
the sidewalk.

(down)

Embrace.

Down. Unwilling to crawl.
through.

(down)

Find fingers.
linked. to chain.

Pull. up.
over.

Fall.
(watching.)

Molly. falls.
(watching)

forward.
(watching)

with each step
(watching.)

8 thoughts on “Outside of.

    • @kidsmilethis did start in a more traditional format for a poem. I really wanted to force the pauses of the poem and break-up the pacing of the reading without resorting to strange line breaks.

    • @slpmartin thank you for your comments. while I don’t think I have the kind of brain that would be able to write computer programing, I appreciate all the things those guys(and gals) do. The exactness you speak was something that I was definitely going for.

    • @nick Vittum Your comment has intrigued me and I want to write a much longer response than this one, but it has been a very long night for me. Sufficed to say that I share your fascination with anthropology and have also spent some time in the mental heath profession.

    • @ angel thanks for your comments. The poem to me still feels incomplete, I feel like most things I post here are still works in progress.

Leave a Reply

